ABOUT Sequences XI: Can’t See

The 11th edition of Sequences will take place in October 2023. Marika Agu, Maria Arusoo, Kaarin Kivirähk and Sten Ojavee are this edition’s curators, who work together at the Estonian Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), based in Tallinn, Estonia. The curatorial collective was appointed as the next festival’s curators through the selection process of an open call.
Titled Can’t See, the Biennial explores the ever­-growing threat of ecological destruction by delving into spaces that cannot be perceived by the human eye, from the depths of the sea and layers of the soil, imagining the debris of the past and visions of the future.

Sequences XI will feature a central exhibition, displayed across four local institutions (The Nordic House, The Living Art Museum, National Gallery, Kling & Bang) and a wider programme of installations, performances, workshops, concerts and more, taking place across the city. Aiming to bring people together during Iceland’s darkest time of the year, the exhibition will run beyond the ten ­day period, enabling more visitors to experience the artists’ work.

The artist selection reflects the curators’ interest in fostering new and deeper connections between the Baltic and Icelandic artistic communities, spotlighting unique, decentralised narratives from these geograph­ical and cultural borders.With over 45 participants confirmed, the biennial will present new commissions and site­-specific installations, alongside artists’ existing works and for the first time, loans from Icelandic and Baltic museums.

Estonian CCA is a non-profit expert institution in international cooperation projects in Estonia. Throughout the years CCA has organized and curated international art events in Estonia and abroad.

Sequences is a non­profit artist run biennial in Reykja­ vík. The aim of the festival is to produce and present progressive visual art. Founding members of Sequences are artist run Kling & Bang (est. 2003), the Living Art Museum (est. 1978) and the Icelandic Art Centre, that together with artists active in the local art scene, run the festival.


13 October

- 22 October 2023


Marika Agu, Maria Arusoo, Kaarin Kivirähk and Sten Ojavee



Festival team - Þórhildur Tinna Sigurðardóttir, Björk Hrafnsdóttir & Odda Júlía Snorradóttir. Curators - Marika Agu, Maria Arusoo, Kaarin Kivirähk & Sten Ojave


Chairman of the Board - Una Björg Magnúsdóttir - Board members - Sunna Ástþórsdóttir - Auður Jörundsdóttir - Tinna Guðmundsdóttir - Vikram Pradhan - Dorothea Oelsen Halldórsdóttir - Hekla Dögg Jónsdóttir - Sigþóra Óðins - Sean Patrick O'Brian - Emilie Dalum - Guðlaug Mía Eyþórsdóttir